Avocado on the Half-Shell

February 13, 2008

avocado-perfection-29082e.jpg

 I’m not sure if this qualifies as a recipe, more a technique really, but it is my new favorite.  And it is beyond simple.  The only real requirement is an avocado in its perfect state, which isn’t hard to find right now.  I had almost given up on avocados through the fall; the ones we were finding were stringy and spotted.  But then I spotted some on sale last week and bought one.  It was everything an avocado should be: creamy and smooth, rich and still somehow green tasting – in a word, perfect.

 Since that find, I have eaten at least six avocados I can account for.  A couple in guacamole, true, but most eaten out of hand with a spoon, a drizzle of fresh lime juice, and a sprinkling of kosher salt.  I find them most pleasing when the flesh has been scored with a knife, allowing me to scoop a couple of chunks out at a time. 

 I have no problem polishing off a whole avocado by myself this way, but if you are feeling aesetic, or merely want to extend the joy to another session of standing in front of the kitchen sink, savoring each spoonful, you can wrap the half with the seed still in it tightly in plastic wrap, and it will keep for a short bit. 

 Eaten this way, an avocado is a secret pleasure, one that creates no dishes or mess.  Unsullied by competing flavors, one can comtemplate an avocado at its peak, spoonful by each perfect spoonful.  Consider it a love letter to oneself.

3 Responses to “Avocado on the Half-Shell”

  1. Elise Says:

    That’s probably the most perfect way to eat an avocado. Cut in half, drizzled with lime or lemon juice, sprinkled with salt, and eaten with a spoon. Nature’s best fast food. I’ve been eating avocados this way my entire life. Yum!

  2. charcuterista Says:

    Bless you for the comment! I was beginning to feel a bit paranoid that no one ate avacados like this…


  3. hi, I love avacados. however, did you know all their amazing properties!

    Saucy Salsita – A woman that knows who she is and isn’t afraid to hide it!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

